open "Gate" Animation need help

Maps and the art of mapmaking.
Guano
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Aug 2008

open "Gate" Animation need help

Unread postby Guano » 02 Aug 2008, 04:04

Hi,

I hope u will undestand what i want^^ my english is not really good ;(

I Want to know how to create a Animation which open the Gate from the
"Rampart_Wall" from the "Arena Objects". (heroes V toe)
-------------------------------
Thats what i have allready try:
First i`ve just add the Animation Set "Gate_0" in the properties
*shared [...] --> animation set [...]*
And then add the script for the animation:

function Gateopen()
if GetCurrentPlayer() == PLAYER_1 then
PlayObjectAnimation("Gate", "open", ONESHOT_STILL);
end;
end;
Trigger(REGION_ENTER_AND_STOP_TRIGGER, "Gatearea", "Gateopen")

It doesn`t work. Mabe the animation Set isnt made for this
Object.
----------------------------------

If i change the Model of the "Rampart_Wall" to
"Model:Arenas\CombatArena\RampartArena\gate1_u1r0"
the object works fine with the animaton set "gate_0",
but the object change to a smaller Gate and it is placed far out of the map.

(if direct the *small gate* from far out the map to the playable map area with changing the Coordinates
like "x=-130; y=-120 ; z= -9" the map will be broken after the next reload)
--------------------------------



I hope anyone could help me to add this animation on the "rampart_wall"
or take the smaller gate onto the map without creating errors :)

User avatar
rdeford
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 299
Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Location: Sequim, USA
Contact:

Re: open "Gate" Animation need help

Unread postby rdeford » 02 Aug 2008, 14:24

Guano wrote:Hi,

I hope u will undestand what i want^^ my english is not really good ;(

I Want to know how to create a Animation which open the Gate from the
"Rampart_Wall" from the "Arena Objects". (heroes V toe)
-------------------------------
Thats what i have allready try:
First i`ve just add the Animation Set "Gate_0" in the properties
*shared [...] --> animation set [...]*
And then add the script for the animation:

function Gateopen()
if GetCurrentPlayer() == PLAYER_1 then
PlayObjectAnimation("Gate", "open", ONESHOT_STILL);
end;
end;
Trigger(REGION_ENTER_AND_STOP_TRIGGER, "Gatearea", "Gateopen")

It doesn`t work. Mabe the animation Set isnt made for this
Object.
----------------------------------

If i change the Model of the "Rampart_Wall" to
"Model:Arenas\CombatArena\RampartArena\gate1_u1r0"
the object works fine with the animaton set "gate_0",
but the object change to a smaller Gate and it is placed far out of the map.

(if direct the *small gate* from far out the map to the playable map area with changing the Coordinates
like "x=-130; y=-120 ; z= -9" the map will be broken after the next reload)
--------------------------------



I hope anyone could help me to add this animation on the "rampart_wall"
or take the smaller gate onto the map without creating errors :)
You are brave to attempt animation and mess around with the shared properties. I am impressed with what you have accomplished so far. However, you should know that changing shared properties has a risk. See this thread:

http://www.celestialheavens.com/forums/ ... cts#228389

Personally, I would try deleting the closed gate object and replacing it with an open gate object. Or, start with the open gate object blocked with a rock or wall and remove the block.

Trying to add animation to an arena object might work or it might not. I think you are asking for a lot of trial and error testing and debugging and you might not be able to get it to work despite a lot of time and effort. Hopefully, some one who has profound knowledge like Franzy will know the answer.
rdeford, Mage Of Soquim

“Forgiving and being forgiven, loving and being loved,
living and letting live, is the simple basis for it all."

Ernest Holmes 1984

Franzy
War Dancer
War Dancer
Posts: 362
Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Unread postby Franzy » 02 Aug 2008, 15:40

Using @doFile command makes debugging and trying not so tiresome :) I went through a lot when making cutscenes for "Mercenaries"...

I'm definite that what you are trying to do is possible. Nice idea, btw. Carry on :)

Guano
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Aug 2008

Unread postby Guano » 04 Aug 2008, 00:34

Thank you for your response ;)

I hope i could find somthing like a "workaround" to make this object usable.

I found many more pretty objects in the Arenas model folders which i
would like to use for my maps, but they are all stained with this stupid
geometry dimensions which making trouble by use them.

Here a Example: Model:Arenas\Town\Rampart\TownHall_u4r0
If you look into the Geometry tree of this Model, u will
find a branch namend *Center*
The Coordinates here aren`t changeable but i think they r the reason
for placing the object far out of the map :(
All these objects got *center* coordinates like
"x=300,y=300:z=50"
Normal Objects got "center" coordinates in a normal interval which
make them placed onto the map.

i´ve looked for the gemometry file in the *data.Pak* folder, extract the file(copy) and open it with a text editor.
Here i found the Center Coordinates and i could change them easy.
But i dont really know what i do and what to do in the next step^^

I dont want to change the Game files, but creating usable edited geometry files with normal "center" coordinates for these models would be great :)

Hmm how can i create my own .pak files , or add my edited and renamend
geometry file into the "data.pak?

sry, the topic has fully turned ^^

Ps: That is my first time i use the editor, all i do is much of trial an error
, i still have my troubles to understand the tips r given in a lot of guides and forum posts ^^


Return to “Mapmaking Guild”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests